The healthiest I had ever been!

So late last year I decided to get a new personal trainer, it was small group fitness classes combining HIIT workouts, crossfit and strength training.

I was so scared to start I was incredibly nervous but once I made the decision I wasn’t going to let my nerves get the better of me.

I’m not going to lie it was hard, really hard! The first week was intense my muscles were so sore movement was difficult the entire week. I was in agony and started to think “can I really do this”? But with the support of my trainer and the other girls I was training with I pushed through.

I didn’t follow any meal plan mainly because it was difficult to follow on a vegan diet as the meals they recommended were not vegan so I just ate my normal meals I would generally eat which is relatively healthy.

The results I saw were amazing!! I was in the best shape of my life I had muscle definition, slimmed down everywhere and felt healthy and strong.

Unfortunately personal training is also expensive, so after a while I decided to see if I could do it on my own at my gym and I did really well.

Something my trainer told me that has always stuck with me is don’t focus on the scale, it’s just a number. I didn’t understand this at first and continued to weigh myself regularly.

I was really surprised to see that even with intense training x2 days a week then 1-2 days of cardio at the gym mixed with some walking and home workouts the number went up not down on the scales but I could see the positive changes.

I spoke to my trainer about it and had it explained to me like this, 1kg of fat weighs the same as 1kg of muscle but muscle is dense and takes up far less space then fat does. Which is something I had never thought about before but makes sense. I’ve always remembered this.

Instead of weighing to track progress, progress was tracked by body fat percentages which mine was dropping. I think I got down to 21% at my best point and since then I don’t really weigh myself anymore.

Instead I judge by how my body feels, how my clothes fit which I think is much healthier for me then weighing myself.

I can’t even count the amount of times I’ve stepped on the scales and been so upset by the number I’ve seen. I would get the scales out and stand on them knowing I was going to be disappointed and upset but I would do it anyway and I found I started to become fixated on the numbers staring back at me.

Since not weighing myself I feel a lot better, it got to the point once I weighed myself I would find it difficult to go out afterwards I would be so upset and self conscious it was becoming unhealthy for me to step on the scales.

Unfortunately due to a few injuries and personal issues I am currently far from where I was which is depressing in itself to see how good I was doing to go so far backwards in a matter of months.

But I’m not going to be defeated. There’s no time like the present to restart my fitness journey. I’ll be updating my blog to keep me accountable. The updates will include my workouts, progress, the good times, the bad times, hard times, my success, my failure and the foods I’m eating.

I’m going to take some before photos, I won’t be sharing these just yet but you never know maybe once I have some after photos I may 🙂

Leave a Reply

